

PRESS STATEMENT MALAYSIAN MEDICAL COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF THE MALAYSIAN MEDICAL COUNCIL UNDER THE MEDICAL ACT 1971 (AMENDMENT 2012)

The Malaysian Medical Council (MMC) is represented by 33 medical practitioners from various sectors of the medical profession throughout Malaysia as provided for by the Medical Act 1971 (Amendment 2012).

Members are from those appointed by the Minister of Health from the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Higher Education and the private health sector. In addition to those appointed, there are members who are determined by elections. This provides an opportunity for medical practitioners from institutions other than mentioned above to have a vote in the Council and to determine the direction of the medical profession in Malaysia.

The duration of each membership is 3 years.

On 28 July 2019, the Council concluded the elections to replace 9 outgoing members representing Peninsular Malaysia whose tenures ended on 13 August 2019. The practitioners who were successfully elected, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

- 1. Dato' Sri Dr. Abu Hassan Asaari Bin Abdullah;
- 2. Dr. Ahmad Mahyuddin Bin Mohamed;
- 3. Prof. Dato' Dr. Anuar Zaini Bin Md. Zain;
- 4. Prof. Dato' Dr. Hanafiah Harunarashid;
- 5. Datuk Dr. Kuljit Singh A/L Mahindar Singh.
- 6. Dr. Milton Lum Siew Wah;
- 7. Prof. Dr. Nor Hayati Othman;
- 8. Dr. Suhazeli Bin Abdullah;
- 9. Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Yahya Bin Awang;

Their tenures commence on 14 August 2019.

I would like to thank the outgoing members, namely Dato' Dr. Abdul Hamid Bin Abdul Kadir, Dato' Dr. Zaki Morad Bin Mohd Zaher, Dr. David Quek Kwang Leng, Prof. Datuk Dr. Abdul Razzak Bin Mohd Said, Dr. Fadzilah Binti Hasan and Datuk Dr. Zainal Ariffin Bin Omar for their dedication and outstanding service while being members of the Council.

The membership of the Council now stands as below:



President:
(Section 3A(1)(a) Medical Act 1971)

1. Datuk Dr. Noor Hisham bin Abdullah

9 Appointed Members from Recognized Local Universities and University Colleges: (Section 3A(1)(b) Medical Act 1971)



2. Prof. Dr. Ahmad Hata bin Rasit



3. Prof. Emeritus Dr. Cheong Soon Keng



4. Mej. Jen. (B) Dato' Pahlawan Dr. R. Mohanadas



5. Prof. Dr. Shaiful Bahari bin Ismail







7. Prof. Dato' Dr. Yang Faridah binti Abdul Aziz



8. Prof. Dr. Zabidi Azhar bin Mohd Hussin



9. Prof. Dr. Zaleha Abdullah Mahdy



10. Prof. Dr. Zamberi Sekawi

3 Appointed Members from the Private Sector: (Section 3A(1)(c) Medical Act 1971)



11. Dr. Chew Chee Ming, John



12. Prof. Dato' Dr. Kandasami Palayan



13. Datuk Dr. Megat Burhainuddin bin Megat Abdul Rahman

3 Appointed Members from the Public Services: (Section 3A(1)(d) Medical Act 1971)



14. Datuk Dr. Christina Rundi



15. Dr. Jamilah Binti Hashim



16. Datuk Dr. Hj. Rohaizat bin Che Yon

15 Elected Members to Represent Peninsular Malaysia: (Section 3A(1)(e) Medical Act 1971)



17. Prof. Dato' Sri Dr. Abu Hassan Asaari Bin Abdullah



18. Dr. Ahmad Mahyuddin Bin Mohamed



19. Prof. Dato' Dr. Ahmad Sukari bin Halim



20. Prof. Dato' Dr. Anuar Zaini Bin Md. Zain



21. Prof. Dato' Dr. Hanafiah Harunarashid



22. Datuk Dr. Kuljit Singh A/L Mahindar Singh



23. Dato' Dr. Lailanor bin Ibrahim



24. Prof. Dato' Dr. Mafauzy bin Mohamed



25. Dr. Milton Lum Siew Wah



26. Prof. Madya Dr. Mohamed Rusli bin Abdullah



27. Prof. Dr. Nor Azmi bin Kamaruddin



28. Prof. Dr. Nor Hayati Othman



29. Dr. Suhazeli Bin Abdullah



30. Prof. Dato' Dr. Wan Mohamad Wan Bebakar



31. Tan Sri Dato' Dr. Yahya Bin Awang

1 Elected Member to Represent the State of Sabah: (Section 3A(1)(f) Medical Act 1971)



32. Datuk Dr. Hjh. Suzain Binti Datuk Hj. Suhaimi

1 Elected Member to Represent the State of Sarawak: (Section 3A(1)(g) Medical Act 1971)



33. Dr. Kalwinder Singh Khaira

Council members have an obligation to uphold the trust of the public and the dignity of the medical profession. I have faith that they will contribute to the Council with responsibility, dedication and commitment.

Thank you.

DATUK DR. NOOR HISHAM ABDULLAH President/Returning Officer Malaysian Medical Council

13th August 2019